Skip to main content

Consumer information

Notice of availability of institutional and financial aid information

This page has been created to fulfill Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine’s compliance with the disclosure requirements under Title IV. Title IV requires institutions participating in financial aid programs to disclose specified information to all prospective students. Below is a list of the disclosure requirements, and links to pages that contain the actual information or where to obtain the information.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) information 

  • Geisinger's Coronavirus Resource Center
  • General GCSOM updates can be found here.
  • CARES Act
    • Current students can learn about COVID-19 emergency grants here.
    • CARES Act reporting information can be found here.
  • Prospective medical students can find updates concerning our upcoming application cycle here.
  • Prospective Master of Biomedical Sciences (MBS) students can find updates concerning our summer and fall semesters here.

Financial assistance information

Contact for financial aid information
Sue McNamara, BS
Director of Financial Aid
570-504-9682
smcnamara@som.geisinger.edu

General institutional information

Tuition and fees

Refund of student charges

Contact for tuition and fees and refunds information
Rita King
Director of Accounting and Business Operations‪‪
570-207-3692
rking@som.geisinger.edu ‬‬‬‬
or
bursar@som.geisinger.edu

Academic programs

Changes in enrollment

Career and placement services

MD career services
Contact for MD career and placement services information

Julia A. Kolcharno, MA
Director of Student Development, Academic Advising and Career Engagement
570-504-9614
jkolcharno@som.geisinger.edu

MBS career services
Contact for MBS career and placement services information

Erin Sutzko
Associate Dean of Graduate Education
Director of Graduate Admissions
570-504-9614
esutzko@som.geisinger.edu

Student activities

Contact for student activities information
Vicki T. Sapp, PhD
Director of Student Engagement, Diversity and Inclusion and Assistant Professor
570-504-9631
vsapp@som.geisinger.edu 

Privacy of student records

Contact for FERPA and student record privacy information
Edward Lahart, MS
Registrar
570-504-9668
elahart@som.geisinger.edu 

Facilities and services available to students with disabilities

Contact for facilities and services available to students with disabilities information
Jackie Ghormoz, MSW
Assistant Dean of Students
570-504-9073
jghormoz@som.geisinger.edu

Student body diversity

Contact for student body diversity information
Edward Lahart, MS
Registrar
570-504-9668
elahart@som.geisinger.edu
or
Ida L. Castro, JD
Vice President for Community Engagement & Chief Diversity Officer
570-504-9647
icastro@som.geisinger.edu

Textbook information

Contact for textbook information
Geisinger Commonwealth Medical Library
570-504-9665
library@som.geisinger.edu

Transfer of credit policies and articulation agreements

  • Geisinger Commonwealth does not accept transfer credits earned at other institutions for its degree programs. Geisinger Commonwealth does not have any articulation agreements with any other institution to accept credits earned at Geisinger Commonwealth.

Contact for transfer of credit information
Edward Lahart, MS
Registrar
570-504-9668
elahart@som.geisinger.edu

Institutional and program accreditation, approval or licensure

Copyright infringement policies and sanctions

  • Including computer use and file sharing

Contact for copyright infringement policies and sanctions information:
Jim Franceschelli 
Associate Dean for Educational Informational Technology
570-504-9679
jfranceschelli@som.geisinger.edu

Employee non-discrimination and equal employment policy

Contact for equal opportunity/non-discriminatory policy information
Joe Martin
Regional HR Director, Geisinger Northeast
570-703-7065 or 570-808-7871      
jrmartin1@geisinger.edu

Student outcomes information

Health and safety

Contact for Campus Security information
John Gorczyk
Director of Facilities and Public Safety
570-504-9681
jgorczyk@som.geisinger.edu  

Voter registration

  • Voter registration forms are available in the Department of Student Affairs.

Contact
Julia A. Kolcharno, MA
Director of Student Development, Academic Advising and Career Engagement 
570-504-9614
jkolcharno@som.geisinger.edu

Conflict of interest policies

Geisinger Commonwealth Conflicts of Interest and Interactions between Industry and Faculty, Staff and Students
Contact
Department of Legal Services
Patti Williams, 570-271-6781 or pkwilliams@geisinger.edu
Lori Gramley, 570-271-6781 or lrgramley@geisinger.edu

Faculty Research and Financial Conflict of Interest Policy
Contact
Sonia Lobo, PhD, RYT
Associate Dean for Research & Scholarship
570-504-9629
slobo01@som.geisinger.edu

Code of Conduct for Institutional Financial Aid Professionals
Contact
Sue McNamara
Director of Financial Aid
570-504-9682
smcnamara@som.geisinger.edu