Skip to main content

College of
Health Sciences

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society


Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) is a national medical honor society founded in 1902 which promotes professionalism, leadership, scholarship, research and community service.

For more information about AOA, visit the national website.

Mission statement

Alpha Omega Alpha — dedicated to the belief that in the profession of medicine we will improve care for all by:

  • Recognizing high educational achievement
  • Honoring gifted teaching
  • Encouraging the development of leaders in academia and the community
  • Supporting the ideals of humanism
  • Promoting service to others 
Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society logo

Current projects

•  MD2 Clinical Skills Day – Providing rising third-year medical students with hands-on clinical skills training to prepare them for what they will experience during their clinical years.

•  Away rotation database – Curating feedback from MD4 students' past rotations to help MD3 students choose away rotations

•  Away rotation guidebook – Creating a guidebook for MD3 students to navigate the Visiting Student Application Service (VSAS) and the away rotation scheduling process

•  Chapter oath – Creating AOA chapter oath for annual chapter induction

•  OSCE case development – Objective Structured Clinical Exam (OSCE) case development with faculty guidance

•  Step 2 CS-OSCE guide – Providing M3 students tips on how to tailor studying

•  Fellowships and awards – Encouraging participation in AOA fellowships and awards

Fellowships and award opportunities

•  Administrative Recognition Award
•  Recipient: Administrative support staff member
•  Carolyn L Kuckein Student Research Fellowship
•  Recipient: Medical student
•  Edward D. Harris Professionalism Award
•  Recipient: Program or institution
•  Fellow in Leadership
•  Recipient: Mid-career physician
•  Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Award
•  Recipient: Medical student
•  Medical Student Service Leadership Project Grant
•  Recipient: Team of medical students
•  Robert H. Moser Essay Award
•  Recipient: All physicians
•  Pharos Poetry Award
•  Recipient: Medical students
•  Postgraduate Fellowship
•  Recipient: Medical residents or fellows
•  Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award
•  Recipient: Faculty member
•  Volunteer Clinical Faculty
•  Recipient: Community physicians

2022 inductees

•  Tim Boorady, Vice President
•  Jessica DeAngelis
•  Angelica DeFreitas
•  Sarah Dwyer
•  Alex Haber
•  Meredith Hanrahan
•  Jaclyn Jordan 
•  Randy Lesh 
•  Laura Lockard
•  Mark Mandel
•  Alex Mettler
•  Edward Mezian
•  John Pacheco
•  Jason Park
•  Jino Park
•  Mary Pelkowski
•  Richard Potter, President
•  Hannah Sofield
•  Stephanie Tilberry
•  Sean Watson
•  Rebecca Welsh

View our members from 2014-2021.

Chapter Councilor

•  Margrit M. Shoemaker, MD

Content from General Links with modal content