IRB Co-Chairs

Thomas Challman, MD
570-214-9361
tdchallman@geisinger.edu

H. Lester Kirchner, PhD
570-214-8125
hlkirchner@geisinger.edu

IRB Administrative Staff

Debra L. Henninger, MHSA, BSN, RN, CCRC
Director, Office of the IRB & HRPP
570-214-9096
dhenninger@geisinger.edu

Rosa Sober, BS, CIP
Manager, HRPP
570-214-6725
rmsober@geisinger.edu

Jeanie Wesner, CCRC, CHRC
HRPP Project Manager
570-271-8138
cbetz@geisinger.edu

Charles E. Brightbill, MS
IRB Specialist
570-271-7922
cebrightbill@geisinger.edu

Gissel Martinez, BS
IRB Specialist
570-214-2669
gnmartinez@geisinger.edu

Barbara Kent
Administrative Assistant
570-271-8663
bkent@geisinger.edu

 

Institutional Official

David H. Ledbetter, PhD 
Executive VP and Chief Scientific Officer
570-214-7786
dhledbetter@geisinger.edu 

Office of Research Compliance
orc@geisinger.edu
Candice Laubach, MBA
Senior Director, Research Administration & Strategic Initiatives
cllaubach@geisinger.edu
Ph: (570) 214-5828

Research Contracts
researchcontracts@geisinger.edu
Candice Laubach, MBA
Senior Director, Research Administration & Strategic Initiatives
cllaubach@geisinger.edu
Ph: (570) 214-5828

Office of Sponsored Projects
researchgrants@geisinger.edu
Shannon Wood, MBA, Director
sewood@geisinger.edu
Ph: (570) 214-7021

IRB Leadership Committee

The IRB Leadership Committee develops and reviews system-level Geisinger policies, procedures and practices related to the protection of human research participants. Policies are compiled in the HRPP Handbook and are reviewed on a regular basis or when changes in regulations, laws, or institutional policies or procedures necessitate review or revision.

The Committee also provides oversight and guidance to the IRB; educates the IRB members, IRB staff, and research community about relevant issues; and assists in determining appropriate institutional responses or positions to emergent issues related to the protection of human research participants.

The Committee currently consists of the IRB Director, the IRB Manager, the IRB Co-Chairs, the Director of Education and Policy in the Office of the EVP/Chief Scientific Officer, and three faculty from the Center for Translational Bioethics and Health Care Policy, i.e., the Director and Chief Bioethics Officer, the Associate Director, Research Ethics (who serves as Committee Chair), and the Associate Director, Bioethics Research. Additional members may be added, or individuals consulted, to enhance representation of critical perspectives and committee functioning.

For questions or concerns about existing IRB policies, or to suggest the need for a new policy, please contact the Chair, Michelle Meyer PhD, JD, at 570-214-3380 or mmeyer@geisinger.edu.