Skip to main content

IRB Co-Chairs

Gurmukteshwar Singh, MD
570-271-6393
gsingh3@geisinger.edu 

William Andy Faucett, MS, CGC
570-214-4862
wafaucett@geisinger.edu 

IRB Administrative Staff

570-271-8663
irb@geisinger.edu

Debra L. Henninger, MHSA, BSN, RN, CIP, CCRC 
Director, IRB Operations and HRPP
570-214-9096
dhenninger@geisinger.edu

Rosa Sober, BS, CIP
HRPP Project Manager
570-214-6725
rmsober@geisinger.edu

Jeanie Wesner, BSBA, CCRC, CHRC
HRPP Project Manager
570-271-8138
jwesner@geisinger.edu

Charles E. Brightbill, MS, CIP, CIM
Manager, IRB
570-271-7922
cebrightbill@geisinger.edu

Andrea Terry, BS, CIP
IRB Analyst
570-214-1029
amterry1@geisinger.edu

Gissel Martinez, BS, CIM
IRB Analyst
570-214-2669
gnmartinez@geisinger.edu

Joy Fornwalt
Administrative Assistant
570-271-8663
jafornwalt@geisinger.edu

Institutional Official

Julie Byerley, MD, MPH
Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer
570-504-7290
jbyerley1@som.geisinger.edu  

Office of Research Compliance 

orc@geisinger.edu 

Christine Gleave, MS, CHRC
Manager, Research Compliance and Training
570-214-9628
cmgleave1@geisinger.edu 


Office of Sponsored Projects (Grants and Research Contracts)

researchgrants@geisinger.edu

researchcontracts@geisinger.edu 

Shannon Wood, MBA
Director, Sponsored Projects
570-214-7021
sewood@geisinger.edu

IRB Leadership Committee

The IRB Leadership Committee develops and reviews system-level Geisinger policies, procedures and practices related to the protection of human research participants. Policies are compiled in the HRPP Handbook and are reviewed on a regular basis or when changes in regulations, laws, or institutional policies or procedures necessitate review or revision.

The Committee also provides oversight and guidance to the IRB; educates the IRB members, IRB staff, and research community about relevant issues; and assists in determining appropriate institutional responses or positions to emergent issues related to the protection of human research participants.

The Committee currently consists of the IRB Director, the IRB Manager, the IRB Co-Chairs, the Director of Education and Policy in the Office of the EVP/Chief Scientific Officer, and three faculty from the Center for Translational Bioethics and Health Care Policy, i.e., the Director and Chief Bioethics Officer, the Associate Director, Research Ethics (who serves as Committee Chair), and the Associate Director, Bioethics Research. Additional members may be added, or individuals consulted, to enhance representation of critical perspectives and committee functioning.

For questions or concerns about existing IRB policies, or to suggest the need for a new policy, please contact the Chair, Michelle Meyer PhD, JD, at 570-214-3380 or mmeyer@geisinger.edu.